Dark Energy and Non-Conservative Forces

Is dark energy the root of dark matter

I am not a scientist of any type but I am captivated by the fields and my mind is always trying to think of the unknowns of science from Space-time to Quantum Physics and there are a number of things that bother me so I have decided to reach out today with one idea I have however far fetched it might be and see what kind of responses I get in hopes to broaden my understanding of what is known and possibly not understood. I for one have an issue with the big bang theory and have a hard time believing that billions of galaxies, stars etc. came from an atom sized explosion just to clear that up from the start although I am agnostic in the belief regardless of the evidence. Who knows. 

To get to the point today, I have been thinking about Dark Energy which at this time is really just a placeholder name for the unknown force supposedly pushing our universe apart at an increasing rate. I have been reading up on energy and this is what has me thinking. There is non-conservative energy we get from an explosion. "Now the amount of energy used in a non-conservative way in the explosion, is the difference between the amount of energy released in the explosion and the total kinetic energy of the exploded pieces" I couldn't say this better without retyping so I just copied it from another site to be honest. My question is this. Where does this non-conservative energy go? It doesn't just vanish out of existence I am assuming so surely it is stored somewhere which could mean at a Quantum level perhaps we have not discovered yet, energy at this level could have mass. Now if this is possible which it very well could be, could it also be possible that this mass can only take up so much space which in our basic idea of physics makes sense.