What problems does organic agriculture solve?

Hello

As a city kid, I have zero knowledge about agriculture. To learn a bit about this, I will spend a few days on a farm at the end of the month to talk with farmers who went from "conventional" agriculture to organic.

In the meantime, I'm reading a bunch of books about agriculture, both conventional and organic, but am having a hard time finding sound, non-biased, scientific information about...

1. what problems organic agriculture is supposed to solve (too much, too strong pesticides/fertilizer? lower nutrition in food?)

2. whether these solutions really work, and if they have any drawbacks

For instance, some organic farmers refer to BS like homeopathy or biodynamics bugeye.gif

Can you recommend good books and online articles that I should read before I go?

Thank you.

Basically, "Organic" farming is just growing crops without all the pesticides and chemical fertilizers used by modern day intensive farming.

This stems from people not fully understanding the role the pesticides and fertilizers have. They believe that since drinking a glass of pesticide would kill you, spraying it on crops makes the crops similarly poisonous and so on. Also that eating GM crops makes you into a mutant.

It's really hard to come to a conclusion other than, they don't actually understand the concepts involved and have reached an incorrect conclusion as a result.