Powerful magnetic field

fred2014

Hi

I have a concept for a device to assist in a manufacturing process that would require a hand held electro-magnetic

device. (Not fixed magnet) (I would prefer not to discuss the actual process for confidentiality reasons)

The device needs to be hand held - not a robot arm.

The device needs to be comfortable to hold and move about for short periods of time (I'm thinking weighing

less than 1lb in total including power source) (Must be battery powered)

I'm looking to develop as high a field strength as possible as the higher the better - also if it can be focussed to some

degree that would help.

Whilst I have electronics skills I have no practical experience of electromagnet construction or materials beyond common

electrical knowledge and my knowledge of magnetic fields is similarly limited.

Does anyone have any comments on a good way to go about this (presumably there is science beyond simple windings

and cores somewhere?) A prototype device has demonstrated this is worth my following up but I need much higher

field strength and to be able to make it hand held to be really useful.

Any comments or ideas on any area of this are welcome at this stage.

Thanks

Battery power is likely to be a problem. If it's just on/off that you require, you may be better off with a very strong permanent magnet that can be placed within a shield of some sort. When the magnet is in one orientation, you get the strong field. To turn it off, you rotate it or the shield (e.g. soft iron) and the field will preferentially exist within the shielding material. External field is basically nil.

examples:

https://www.thorlabs.com/thorproduct.cfm?partnumber=MB175

http://www.leevalley.com/US/Wood/page.aspx?cat=3,43576&p=65258

Strength of electromagnet depends on current flowing through wire.

The larger current I [A], the stronger electromagnet.

Because when current is multiplied by time, it's charge Q=I*t,