Getting a scientific education

Tampitump

For the past few years I have wanted to pursue a scientific education, specifically in neuroscience. But I know that there are immense problems that I currently face (and will face) in pursuing this goal.

The first problem is my terrible academic past. I barely passed high school. After high school, I went to a small, local, four-year university where I failed out. I got placed on academic suspension because I spent three years there, failed everything, and never made it beyond freshman status. I spent four years in the workforce before I concluded that i wanted education, and decided to go back to college. Actually, I had acquired the desire to pursue a science education a couple of years before going back. Deciding to go to community college was the first step towards this goal.

I'm currently a sophomore in community college majoring in computer science. I'm set to transfer to my state's flagship next fall (if all works out). My cumulative GPA at my current CC is 3.74, but when combined with the GPA from my former college, it is still horrendous. If I'm getting a "scientist's" education, this means a PhD program. I don't want to go to a two-bit school for this. I doubt any serious schools will touch me in light of my past failures. I'm looking at schools like Vanderbilt, Carnegie Mellon, and Duke for the PhD.

The other problem is that I understand that these types of careers like neuroscience are pretty spotty, and only really pan out for the brightest and most accomplished. I doubt a PhD in neuroscience would even qualify me for a job a Books a Million. It's either you succeed mightily, or you make it nowhere. Maybe I'm wrong. If so, correct me.

What should I do? Give it up? Pursue it? I'm really just a kid in his bedroom dreaming at this present moment.