The cryptography of DNA; And can an amatuer do genetic experiments

Trurl

Ok, for my background I am a college student. I confess to not knowing biology or genetics or even engineering for that matter. I have read some books on genetics and I am particularly interested in gene-therapy. But I have read that genetics is related in many ways to cryptography. I have tried here at SFN in a math post to solve the Prime-product problem. I have had little success so far. I have a polynomial which if you already know the Prime numbers proves true, but by itself I cannot solve the resulting equation. I have tried geometry and am currently looking at other methods.

My question is how do you read the genetic code chemically? I have seen some basic experiments in a Make biology book. Also what are the cytological algorithms? From my brief research the math problem is complex and differs from gene pattern to pattern. So not only do you have to solve a genealogic one-way-function, but you don’t know the algorithm that pattern is based on. And most gene knowledge is not shared due to the fact it is a big-money intellectual property. So with most researchers working alone it is no wonder mathematicians haven’t solved it.