Why don't more women pursue a career in Physics?

Elbow_Patches

Hello everyone,

I'm a Physics teacher in a secondary school and I'm doing a little research into why the number of females in Physics A level classes and undergraduate courses (only about 20%) is so low.

If I could please take 5-10 minutes of your time by asking you to fill out this survey:

https://www.quicksurveys.com/s/c6J3EnS

I also encourage you to pass the link around to anyone you think may be interested in giving their opinions.

It is anonymous and open to everyone, I just ask for your honest opinions. At this stage I will likely put out a second survey informed by the responses to this one, so if you'd like to suggest pertinent questions to be included or comments on the phrasing of the questions as they stand it would be appreciated.

Many thanks,

Elbow Patches

I think the answer is as smiple as: they are not interested in it as much as men are. There is no other logical explanation.

Also, linking is disabled for you, a new member, as a form of spam protection. It is usually required that a discussion takes place on the forum itself.

Hi Lord Antares,

Thanks for the response. Can people still see the address and copy+paste the link to complete the survey? If so I'd really appreciate you giving a detailed answer.

For instance, if it is that women are simply not as interested in it, I want to find out why not, how we could encourage them to be more interested, and whether or not that's important. Perhaps Physics just isn't for girls, perhaps it's to do with the way younger girls view Physics at school. The 20% I mentioned is for the UK and similar figures in the US, but that isn't the story across the globe. Societal factors certainly seem to come into play. I've tried to make the survey so that your opinions can be gathered and compared with others easily.

Many thanks,

EP