Why angle of reflection and incident are equal??

That's my only question.

I am a newbie here, so I don't know if this is the right section to post this question.

I am expecting a non-mathematical answer with minimum science terminologies, as I won't understand it at all.

If an atom is hit by a photon, its electron excites and changes its shell and then again falls back to its previous shell, giving a photon.

My question is, why the given out photon goes in perfect opposite direction of the incident photon to make angle i = angle r.

That's my only question.

I am a newbie here, so I don't know if this is the right section to post this question.

I am expecting a non-mathematical answer with minimum science terminologies, as I won't understand it at all.

If an atom is hit by a photon, its electron excites and changes its shell and then again falls back to its previous shell, giving a photon.

My question is, why the given out photon goes in perfect opposite direction of the incident photon to make angle i = angle r.

Reflection does not involve an excitation to another shell.

Classically, one would apply the requirements of electric and magnetic fields at the surface (called boundary conditions). The only condition where they hold is if the angles are the same. Or, one could apply Fermat's principle, that the light takes the path of least time. http://hyperphysics.phy-astr.gsu.edu/hbase/phyopt/fermat.html

Quantum-mechanically, the absorption/emission is by a virtual state, and the only solution that conserves energy and momentum is equal angles.

Light is an electromagnetic wave, i.e. it has an electric and magnetic field. At an interface, the field components parallel to the surface are continuous, because for at least one of the fields, the parallel component depends on the angle. If you have 100% reflection, the only way for that to be true is if the angles are equal. Showing this requires math, which you said you didn't want.