vb vs c++

EvilMind

in terms of learning, if you're going to start learning to program from C++ first with no prior knowledge, then you're going to have a steep learning curve. i started off with BBC BASIC, moved onto qbasic, vb, C, C++, and a couple of auxiliary languages like PHP, tcl, etc.

if you want to start learning to program, vb is ideal, as it's an extremely easy language to learn. it'll also get you into the idea of OOP, which is a key concept of C++. in general, you can do anything in C++ that you care to put your mind to, but it is a harder language to learn from scratch.

also, experience of C before going to C++ is rather essential unless you're really good :)

Guest mnguyen86

i would recommend VB... VB is much easier than C++.. the only thing i dont like about C++ it is too dry plain white and black... i was to used to VB then suddenly i started learning C++ and i found that VB is more "amusing"

Originally posted by mnguyen86

i would recommend VB... VB is much easier than C++.. the only thing i dont like about C++ it is too dry plain white and black... i was to used to VB then suddenly i started learning C++ and i found that VB is more "amusing"

i have to say, although VB is a language that is considerably easier than C++, i find i get a lot more satisfaction out of creating something in C++ than VB, and generally i get a better, cleaner program out of it. no matter what anyone says, i have always thought of VB as a messy language, whereas C++ is a lot more refined.

also, i made my mandelbrot set generator the other day (see the math forum) which i like a lot. i started out with vb, but steadily moved to C++ because it turned out to be a lot easier. if i'd had to do it in vb, it would have taken me a considerably longer amount of time.