novice genetics question

rawalmond

alright so i'm a novice when it comes to science, don't know much about it... at all. probably couldn't even pass grade school quizzes if they were presented to me. so i have no idea how genetics work, but i have a question i'd like to be answered, please. :)

a friend of mine's mother is white, and his father is half black and half latino. another friend of mine is trying to argue that he's 1/3rd black, 1/3rd white, and 1/3rd latino. but that doesn't really seem to add up in my head.

i figure he's half white, a quarter black, and a quarter latino. please correct me if i'm wrong, or let me know if i'm right.

alright so i'm a novice when it comes to science, don't know much about it... at all. probably couldn't even pass grade school quizzes if they were presented to me. so i have no idea how genetics work, but i have a question i'd like to be answered, please. :)

a friend of mine's mother is white, and his father is half black and half latino. another friend of mine is trying to argue that he's 1/3rd black, 1/3rd white, and 1/3rd latino. but that doesn't really seem to add up in my head.

i figure he's half white, a quarter black, and a quarter latino. please correct me if i'm wrong, or let me know if i'm right.

My ancestry is Native American, Melungeon, Scottish and African, my eyes are blue my hair is curly and white (used to be dark brown) what color am i? You are making up terms that have no real meaning...

Someone please correct me if I'm wrong, but...

Your friend has 1/2 of his genes from his mother and 1/2 from his father.

His mother can only give up 'white' genes which makes him half 'white'.

His father can give up 'black' or 'latino' genes, but he doesn't have to give up half of each. Your friend could have inherited from his father all 'black' genes, all 'latino' genes, or more likely, something in between.

Edited by zapatos