PhD Interview Advice

ennui

Hello,

I'm in my final year of my bachelor's degree in molecular medicine at the moment, and I want to do postgraduate courses.

I've been applying for a few PhDs in fields like cancer-research, virology, proteomics, genetics and molecular biology.

So far, I've had two interviews. One was at UCL in London, and one was at my current university in the South of England.

The interviews didn't go too well, in my opinion. They say they will contact me by next week to let me know if I got the position.

Does anyone have any PhD interview/application advice - preferably in the UK?

I'd also ike to know if a bad interview necessarily means that someone won't get the position.

How many times do people have to apply for PhD studentships before being accepted?

I can't really help as I got onto the Ph.D. course I took as a natural extension of my BSc/MSc project - no interviws at all. There were a few people trying to get a small number of decent projects though. I think my supervisor picked me over people who may have got better grades because of the enthusiasm I had for the prospective project - I went to see him before putting his project down as my first choise to ask him to go into more detail about it as I was thinking of applying. I thnk this forethought impressed him and he gave me (and my mate) a short talk about what the project was about - we asked some questions and told him how enthusiastic we were about getting onto his project because we liked the subject.... The project was ours!:D

Unfortunately though - it is difficault to fein genuine enthusiasm.

In my experience most people think their interviews didn't go very well. I can't give much advise as my interview was more of a chat, as I'd worked in the research group before, although I didn't know my now supervisor really at that point...