"information" ghosts

brutus39

This is my first time posting on this forum, or any for that matter, so I appologise in advance for any mistakes I may make. Also, as I only have an 8th grade education, I cannot describe my theory by use of equation or the like.

My theory is that when a person dies, they become a "ghost." I mean a ghost in both the traditional term and a non-traditional term. Traditional in that the ghost is the remains of a human left on earth. Non-traditional in that it is not a soul and does not exist in a spectral state. As a human grows and lives out life, their mind collects information. When a human dies, their mind cannot support the information any longer. However, information cannot be destroyed. I theororize that this information takes on an intangable form. Intangable because information does not have mass. This collection of information left over from a human's death would contain said human's thoughts, personality, memory, etc. This would cause the ghost to, in effect, be the human that the information came from. I have researched this to the best of my ability and have yet to find anything that disproves this theory. If anyone does find something that contradicts this, please tell me.

Hi brutus,

A few quick points.

How do you define "ghosts?"

What testable predictions does your theory offer?

If none, then really what you have is a conjecture.

I personally believe that ghosts are nonsense, archaic remants of our ancestors who were too uneducated to understand things but still needed explanations. I also think that once a person dies the ONLY place they live on is in the minds and memories of others who have not yet died. This idea of a white floaty thing moving through the house and making noises is a myth... a fairy tale. That is my opinion.

However, before you take my word on this, perhaps I would be convinced of your position after you've addressed my questions above.

Enjoy. :)