Expansion speeds can be faster than light--T or F?

Martin

Cosmic expansion speeds can be faster than c, the speed of light  

1 member has voted

1. 1. Cosmic expansion speeds can be faster than c, the speed of light

• True, they can exceed c.
    • False, they must not exceed c.

• Replies 52
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

i don't see anything with points in space expanding faster than the speed of light. i'm not an expert on it so it is only opinion. i'm sure that some cosmologist somewhere some when will perform experiments to prove it or disprove it if it hasn't already been done.

I voted yes because I considered the word "can" to be a variant of the word "could" in Martin's other question.

I suspect that only a small tweak to relativity might allow it.

Beware the Known unknowns and unknown unknowns.

...... And can we envisage anything more massless than empty space.....?

But as Klaynos said, it's the rate of expansion that exceeds C, this isn't to do with the mass of space, being akin to massless particles (photons, gluons et.c) and so having a limit C. Without even going through the math, some of the neighbouring galaxies are receeding (some are approaching due to gravity taking hold...but anyway) just below C, the further away a galaxy is, the faster the recession speed, also given the fact the expansion has been accelerating, then it stands to reason the expansion is FTL.

it Can`t have one end and another end tho can it, if it DID it would have a shape, and if it Had a shape it would have a Center point!

and since it doesn`t....

well I dunno, I`ll let you guys work that one out!

If the universe is expanding at (or faster than) the speed of light, don't we need a point outside of the universe (I don't think there are any, but) by which to compare that speed of expansion? :confused:

Agentchange - There is no edge of the universe. If you think I'm wrong, prove it.