Teaching students, Google, Wikipedia etc.

CharonY

Just as a preface: I do not intend to make a technology rant here, nor do I intend to succumb to

the old "in the olden times everything was better" notions. In addition, I think there was already a similar thread somewhere but

I could not dig it up. What I'd like to have is some input in the following thoughts:

Background:

At the moment I (still) work as a postdoc but due to various reasons I have a slightly higher than average workload regarding to creating and supervising both, theoretical and practical courses.

Due to the nature of the topics I teach, the practical courses alone are usually not a sufficient indicator of understanding the topic, thus I usually let the students present their results either as a talk, or a written report.

In addition I train students during their diploma or phD thesis in all aspects, but as I am not a full professor I am not allowed to directly grant titles or marks.

I am doing this for six to seven years now and I found that in a number of areas the quality of the test results, reports or diploma theses (only slightly in phD theses) appears to be detoriating. This is not a pure subjective feeling as the achieved marks were in deed detoriating over the las five years.

What I found in my tests is that the questions that require to give the correct "catchwords" and definitions were as good as five years ago, but those that require understandingwere lousy.

Identical tests that I gave five years ago scored consistenty better than today. I assume that a lot of parameteres are likely to be involved in this, however

in recent reports and theses I found that quite a lot of the information within was almost exclusively gathered by online sources like wikipedia.

While wikipedia (and encyclopedia in general) might be a good way to start or to get a rough overview but are certainly not sufficient to get in depth informations to write