Zero Point Energy?

JTM³

Are there any other ways of extracting zero point energy? The only one I've heard of is that cassimir effect thing, which is pretty much useless because the plates can't be unstuck.

So will this ever be a viable energy source?

Does science hint at a "subspace" star trek like dimension? If there was another dimension or if we could intereact with a universe made of energy (according to string theory's multiple universe/dimensions), if we use as much energy as we extract, would that bypass the laws of conservation, which says you can't "create" new energy?:confused:

I'm no expert of course, so please correct me if there's anything wrong in that description.

• Replies 52
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Are you suggesting a connection between the concepts of ZPE and multiple dimensions? AFAIK, ZPE is just a hypothesis that the seemingly empty space between matter has an extremely small amount of heat in it, barely above absolute zero, but since their is such an incredibly vast amount of this space the energy involved is equally incredibly vast.

I don't know that ZPE has been linked to M or Srting theory though.

Are you suggesting a connection between the concepts of ZPE and multiple dimensions? AFAIK' date=' ZPE is just a hypothesis that the seemingly empty space between matter has an extremely small amount of heat in it, barely above absolute zero, but since their is such an incredibly vast amount of this space the energy involved is equally incredibly vast.

I don't know that ZPE has been linked to M or Srting theory though.[/quote']

Oh...ok. Just checkin' ;)

I challenge the quantum hypothesis of the vacuum. Just because there are many quantized photons does not mean that the native characteristic of the vacuum is that of a "ficticious oscillator". Quantum theory as we have applied it produces a ridiculous result that is not small. Ten with one hundred and twenty zeroes???