I started learning chemistry in school and I am very interested in it. Can anyone help me answer these questions?

TriForceHero_

I started learning chemistry in school and am very interested in it. I just have some questions.

1. Is making elements chemistry, I am pretty sure it is but I just wanna double check.

2.What materials and tools do I need to make basic elements.

3.What precautions do I need to do before doing chemistry with elements.

The first element I want to make is hydrogen I think that would be called protium correct me though because I really don't know.

Thank you for helping! 

Edited by TriForceHero_
changed title

• TriForceHero_ changed the title to I started learning chemistry in school and I am very interested in it. Can anyone help me answer these questions?
5 hours ago, TriForceHero_ said:

I started learning chemistry in school and am very interested in it. I just have some questions.

1. Is making elements chemistry, I am pretty sure it is but I just wanna double check.

The first element I want to make is hydrogen I think that would be called protium correct me though because I really don't know.

Thank you for helping! 

Learn a little bit of theory and a lot of safety.

Practical Chemistry can be fun, but can also be dangerous.

Chemists don't 'make' elements, they make compounds, which are substances that are combinations of 'elements'.

To start with don't worry about atoms, molecules and electrons.

Start with the idea that 'elements' are substances that cannot be divided or separated into anything simpler. There are a little over 100 naturally occurring elements.
A simple example is a lump of pure carbon.
If you keep dividing and subdividing ths lump you will always have pieces carbon and nothing else.

Chemistry is mostly about two things, how to combine these elements into compounds and how to separate out pure elements from compounds and mixtures.

There are many, many ways to perform both of these tasks.