Foreign language

Lance

What other languages are you guys learning/ proficient at?

I started learning Japanese this year for my foreign language credit. Right now I'm just focusing on Romaji (roman letters) but it's still a bit confusing and complicated.

Anyway I was just curious what other languages (besides English) everybody speaks. Any comments on learning Japanese?

• Replies 83
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Finnish, Swedish (obligatory since Finland is a two-language country :< ), and of course English... That's about it. A couple of words here and there but those are the only ones I'm good at.

By the way, Finnish is a bitch to learn if you haven't learned it since you were a kid, and even if you did. :P

"järjestelmällistyttämättömyydellänsäkään" <- a single word of Finnish, meaning something like "even without one's disability of not systematizing" :D It's incredible how much stuff you can cram in a single word.

English and Russian, but am currently learning a few simple words and phrases in Italian and Bagladeshi from a few fellow gardeners :)

I can speak a little Japanese, German and French, but am not in anyway fluent.

I feel ignorant when I know 1.000001 languages and everybody else knows 2-6. Sheesh.

How much Japanese do you know YT? I picked it because I don’t know anybody else who knows it and it seems like the hardest choice. I also wouldn’t mind knowing what the little people running away from Godzilla are saying. I wonder what it would be like to major in Japanese...

YT where do you learn to speak russian i would love to be able to speak russian and i have a russian name if anybody wants to here it its Richard James Boris[/u'] Wilkinson-Lowe how great of a name is that

Pretty great. :P

If youre learning a new (hard) language I would recomend Rosetta Stone.Although it is a bit expensive.