"Credit" for hypothesis?

Edmond Zedo

I'm a relatively new cognitive psychology student, but older than most of my peers. I've been an "amateur" for years, analyzing subjectively--kind of a philosopher, if you will. I plan on going into research, and probably writing, combining the objective with the subjective.

Thing is, I've just come up with a hypothesis which is scientifically testable, and kind of a "big deal" if it can be shown accurate. I'm confident it is, but I have no status, and lack knowledge of procedure. My question: Is there some way to document this hypothesis officially, making it available to the research community, and receive some credit as "The guy who thought of it first?" If that were the case, it would surely help my status, and future endeavors at figuring out the brain.

Thanks a lot, Ed.

I'm a relatively new cognitive psychology student, but older than most of my peers. I've been an "amateur" for years, analyzing subjectively--kind of a philosopher, if you will. I plan on going into research, and probably writing, combining the objective with the subjective.

Thing is, I've just come up with a hypothesis which is scientifically testable, and kind of a "big deal" if it can be shown accurate. I'm confident it is, but I have no status, and lack knowledge of procedure. My question: Is there some way to document this hypothesis officially, making it available to the research community, and receive some credit as "The guy who thought of it first?" If that were the case, it would surely help my status, and future endeavors at figuring out the brain.

Thanks a lot, Ed.