Some (Interested Layman's) "What if?"-Questions Regarding Neutron Stars

Godot

Hi @ all!

I'm an interested layman with some background - mostly popular science books and TV shows, and Phil Plait's Bad Astronomy blog. Reading about the just-published gravitational wave observation results made me revisit some old thoughts about neutron stars, and what would happen if and when...

(1) two of pass each other closely on hyperbolic trajectories?

(1a) have a less close pass? Would there be a - kind of - critical distance they'd have to keep?

(1b) could / does the acceleration on the inbound branch make one collapse further and form a black hole (due to relativistic mass dilation)

(2) one neutron star does such a pass on another massive collapsed object ??? (black hole or white dwarf, either would be OK)

Why do I wonder? Wellll...   ...during their periastron, their gravities should cancel each other out, which might or might not bring the gravity below the "degeneracy threshold".

Would that lead to a "de-degeneration" of the collapsed matter? Loss of matter? (as gravitational waves or classical photons?) What about tidal forces, spaghettification? Angular momentum?

Also, assuming that one or both of the neutron stars were on the light side, just north of chandrasekar's limit, would such a mass loss cause a "de-degeneration??? And if so, a fast one (BOOOM!!!!) or a slow evaporation???

... I could go on, but I won't. Well, not now.

I'd be happy with links to any sites, lectures or even arXiv papers - as long as they contain enough text to understand them. I'm a molecular / microbiologist and did physics as a major during my school finals, worked with radioisotopes, yadda yadda -  and have a reasonable grasp of stuff that goes on on the small end. But my math knowledge is pretty ... meh: At some point after the third or so integral sign, the little cogwheels unlink and it all goes "whirrrrr...."

Thanks in advance and I'm hoping for some enlightening answers!