newcomb law

lemniskate

1 hour ago, lemniskate said:

is it just me or does this mathematical principal seem to be something we all should have learn in high school?

also called benfords law.

If you realize the potential of this like I do please comment or argue if you like.

Why do you find this surprising ?

I don't find it at all surprising, how often does your shopping include 1 pineapple or cabbage and how often 9 pineapples or cabbages?

Edited by studiot

I’m a physicist, so I’m in the minority of people who don’t complain about having to learn math (no “I’ll never use this!”) and I have used algebra quite often, as well as calculus, differential equations, trigonometry, etc. - basically all the areas of math I learned in high school and college.

I learned about Benford’s law about 20 years ago, and have never had occasion to apply it.  It’s neat, and there might be a few students who would be interested to learn of it. 

What is the audience who should learn about this in high school? I can only think it would be a thin slice of the student population, at best.

I learnt about this when I was a criminal fraud investigator in the Inland Revenue for reviewing potentially fraudulent invoices, accounts, till rolls etc.

Apparently when someone tries to fake a list of numbers for nefarious purposes they are more likely to either choose a fairly even spread from 0 to 9 or over select 5 to 7 creating a bell curve when the numbers are plotted on a graph.

It's not enough to convict, obviously, but is a useful investigative tool.

48 minutes ago, Dord said:

I learnt about this when I was a criminal fraud investigator in the Inland Revenue for reviewing potentially fraudulent invoices, accounts, till rolls etc.

Apparently when someone tries to fake a list of numbers for nefarious purposes they are more likely to either choose a fairly even spread from 0 to 9 or over select 5 to 7 creating a bell curve when the numbers are plotted on a graph.