No Quarks?

ydoaPs

Thanks Cap'n. What worries me about his site is he seems to a non-expert like me to be acting rationally and seems to have some good knowledge of the subject. I expect you're an expert and can spot his crankiness. I can't. Of course, my problem extends to every area where I'm not an expert : there are so many! So I either I have to trust your judgement (or someone with your depth of knowledge) or take the long route (like you will have done) and study the details. It seems to me that topics of this type should be confined to an expert forum or at least have a health warning.

One wrong one will do. :D

Can you give me an incorrect statement?

There are so many...

OK' date=' here's a concrete example:

Next I will offer a reason that the Omega Minus particle is the heaviest "strange" baryon

(and it's not because it's composed of three strange quarks)

He gets the mass of the omega minus correct, but it is far from being the most heaviest strange baryon. In fact, the omega(1672) isn't even the most massive omega resonance! Then there are the Xi baryons, which are also strange, and whose most massive resonance (2500 MeV) just barely edges out the most massive omega resonance (2470 MeV).

You can see all the info for yourself at the following site:

Particle Data Group: Baryons

• 5 years later...

Could it be possible that a quark may be the offspring of a "QuauQ"? You know, that elusive slice of bread with only one side? I ask this simply because I know absolutely nothing of physics, other than X-Laxs.

Could it be possible that a quark may be the offspring of a "QuauQ"? You know, that elusive slice of bread with only one side? I ask this simply because I know absolutely nothing of physics, other than X-Laxs.

What is a QuauQ? A google search turned up nothing pertaining to subatomic particles.

Merged post follows:

Consecutive posts merged