I don't think I am smart enough, really.

Marconis

I am a freshman studying biology, and I have a huge fear of failure and inadequacy within science studies in general. I go on science forums (such as this) and read science articles and stuff every now and then to get a taste of what it is like to be at the end of your undergrad studies and ready to move on to the big world, be it a job or graduate school. All of these people (you guys included), only a few years older than me, speak like they are geniuses, could run a lab with one eye open, know everything about anything within the field, etc. etc. When people are talking about science on campus, or say they are a some sort of a science major, I automatically assume they are so much more intelligent than I am. If I hear something cool, I think, "Why the hell don't I know about that?" I just can't even picture myself being able to speak intelligently on a scientific manner or something like that. I know it's sad to think that way, but it really puts me down and I hate it. For some reason I have this notion that I am unable to learn to the best of my ability. I think it has to do with the fact that I am not naturally good at math/science and was never a "top" student. I got a 5 on AP Biology...yay, so what? Also, I am very specific in what I like, and that of course is biology. I find chem interesting, but rather difficult, and I hate math but am working my ass off for it. Physics? Bleh, not for me. I feel this narrow-mindedness is going to put a damper on being a "scientific thinker". I really love science, am willing to work like hell to become knowledgeable, but I don't know if I am capable. I don't get what I am trying to say here,really, I just needed to vent. I made a very similar post about this a year ago, but since I am in college now it is all very real.