Psychology of Gender - I am hearing/reading conflicting information.

MathHelp

When I studied Psychology, I learned that there is very little difference between men and women psychologically. The differences that psychologists do see often disappear when controls are put in place.

However, at the same time there are people who identify as the opposite gender (or no gender at all). Doesn't that imply that there are psychological differences between the male and females? What am I missing here?

Perhaps I am misremembering what I learned - could it be that there are no differences intellectually between males and females but that there are other differences?

The other thing that confused me is that my understanding is that hormones effect our mental states - but males and females have different levels of hormones so shouldn't that mean there is a difference?

Apologies if anything I have said implies something offensive. I am not trying to be offensive and psychology/humanities/gender is not my area of expertise. So I don't know if I am making assumptions I shouldn't or if I have fundamentally misunderstood what I am hearing/learning etc etc

I see it more as an issue of identity. I may identify as a baseball player, or as an artist, or as a father. As I approach the world, I am just being myself as who I am. 

The world then tries to impose other labels on me. Those labels aren’t always ideal. Gender is more of a spectrum than a binary set of two, and sometimes trying to force ourselves into just one of those two buckets feels like smashing a square peg through a round hole. 

Likely in part due to how little gender matters when interacting online and how many hours of our existence are now spent online, more and more people are simply being authentic, less concerned about ostracization, and saying “I no longer feel like smashing myself every day to fit your arbitrary outdated shape.”