Kinetic/Potential question.

YT2095

a thought occured to me about this, HOW does Radiation fall into this energy type(s)?

a strongly radioactive substance, is it kinetic energy at a rate, with potential energy stored?

or is it something else entirely?

ta :)

I'm no nuclear scientist, but I think to answer to this question, you have to clearly define what you mean by "radioactive". Because as far as I know, radiactive material is simply metastable configurations at the atomic level, as similarly you have metastable chemical substances.

In anycase, what makes something radioactive is that it emits "high-energy" atomic particles, the more commonly known ones being alpha-particles (helium nuclei), gamma particles (high frequency photons), beta particles (high velocity electrons), that can penetrate and rip apart other atoms if they come into contact with them. So that is a problem of course if you're around and it starts ripping apart your cell's DNA.

So yeah, knowing what these elements are would put you in a better position in classifying what kind of energy makes up this radioactivity. Generally it is in the form of kinetic energy yes. They are released at high enough velocities to cause damage on collision. Thats why nuclear facilities use lead or some kind of boron carbon? if I'm not wrong, in thick layers to stop the penetration of these particles. And of course, the high energy photons like gamma particles and x-rays can literally fry you alive, somehow like your microwave cooks food.

I was thinking alont the lines of this...

Imagine 2 cubes, one made of a very radioactive element and another of a non-radioactive element.

both weigh exactly 1Kg, and are suspended 1 meter above the floor.

do they both have the same potential energy?

Imagine 2 cubes' date=' one made of a very radioactive element and another of a non-radioactive element.

do they both have the same potential energy?[/quote']