Global Warming caused by warming, not CO2?

Gen1GT

I am not a professional in any field of science, let alone any related to climate science, but it seems to me we could be overlooking a huge piece of the puzzle in the blame for global warming. I do work in an engineering field, so the use of math and logic are not foreign to me.

It seems as though Occam’s Razor has – as far as I can tell – yet to be observed in climate science related to global warming. Please consider the following:

The average car in the world achieves 8L/100km of fuel consumption, according to the IEA (in 2005).

The average passenger car travels 14,435 km in one year. (International Road Federation).

The average thermodynamic efficiency of an internal combustion engine is 37%, leaving 63% of the burned fuel wasted as heat (courses.washington.edu)

The average energy content of gasoline is 36 Megajoules per litre.

According to my calculations (and you can feel free to check my math), the average car emits 26,190 MJ of heat energy into the atmosphere every year. To put that into relatable terms, this equals 24.8 million BTU’s of heat PER CAR, of which there are over a billion, per year!

What is the possibility that CO2 plays a small role in global warming, but rather, we are actually simply heating up the planet by burning everything in sight?

24.8 million billion BTUs is a lot of heat in one year, but I can’t plug that number into the grand equation of global warming. In the current global warming model, does heat waste even factor into the formula?

Hi Gen1GT - Welcome to the site. Your insight is actually a common one and has been explored. Here's the summary:

The contribution of waste heat to the global climate is 0.028 W/m2. In contrast, the contribution from human greenhouse gases is 2.9 W/m2. Greenhouse warming is adding about 100 times more heat to our climate than waste heat.

In short, waste heat accounts for only about 1% of the warming we're experiencing.

Waste_Heat.jpg