A few questions from somebody switching from business

CuriousBanker

Hello all,

I hope I am posting in the right forum, this is my first time on this site. This is my same handle as on physicsforums.

A quick background:

I am 23. I was working in banking, making around 85k, and was on track to make 120k next year, and about 500k in 2 years when my boss was handing on giving me her business. Then I got fired this week over a ridiculous code of conduct violation (doing a transfer for a friend...not sure why this is illegal as nobody complained).

So, now I am doing some thinking. I have a 3.13 in economics from temple. I was lucky as hell to be making the money I did with that kind of degree and nothing else really jumping out on my resume.

For years, I have had really bad OCD. I have finally started taking medication for it. Most of my obsessive thoughts revolved around the fact that although I knew business and banking pretty well, I have no real understanding of science or how the world works. I am a smart individual (was always in advance programs, my IQ was like top 3% or something like that) and succeed at whatever I do for the most part when I actually try (which until a year or two ago was almost never). However I always am so curious about everything, and it bothered me that I did not know a lot about the world. I don't know why. I would hate that I would sit around and wonder how cell phones worked, how air conditioners worked, how medicine worked, etc. So much so that it led to depression.

Instead of tackling the problem head on, I just let it bother me. Stupid. I tried to teach myself many difference areas of science, but it failed. When trying to self teach myself it failed because 1) I had no curriculum so I was trying to learn some things and I would realize I didn't know some other things and I would not know where to start 2) It is hard to stay disciplined when you are self studying 3) There is no testing of my knowledge.