nonresponding profs

Jarwulf

So I'm attempting to see if I can do some volunteering in lab. I have a degree already and some research experience. Someone said visit them in person but another says they'll get annoyed if you don't email them first and find out if its okay. Different things annoy different people but I assume that overall its safer to email first.

The problem is I email profs and I get no response over and over again. Yeah they're busy, but when I was still in the research scene that was never an excuse for me and I'd get raked over the coals for even appearing to take to long to reply, plus the professors back then got back to me.

I sent to the account of a student friend and they got the message so it doesn't appear to be in the spam folder. I dunno, I keep hearing about how academics are hard up for money but it sure seems like everybody is wildly successful if they can't even be bothered to type 'sorry no' to me.

Any suggestions?

Edited by Jarwulf

Not everyone is good at responding to emails. It is quite possible that a spam filter has killed your email, this is especially true if the professors are inundated by quacks. I am sure this has happened to me when trying to email a more well known scientist (I won't say who).

You could try using "snail mail".

Whatever happens, keep trying.

If you can then appeal to their vanity. If you know (or can find out) their name then write to them by name. If you know (or can find out) their special area of interest then mention that also interests you. Be careful over details such as your spelling. Best of luck.

What email address are you using to send?

They might not be taking you seriously if you are sending messages from say bigman69@genericemailservice.com

Do you know anyone who might be able to put in a good word for you? Someone to approach on your behalf.