Help in identifying an unknown substance please!!

navg

Hey everyone,

First off, thanks for taking a look even if it's just curiosity. I have a chemical or substance that I am trying to have identified, and I can't really seem to get much help or where to turn.

I am not really good with chemistry so I was hoping for some good help on this forum. I will list pretty much everything valuable I know about the chemical, you can always msg for more details as I would be glad to discuss about it.

Let's just say someone does help me solve this! It would mean a lot and I would be very happy to give some sort of reward on my own! $!

At first I thought this chemical was methionine crystals, however, I was told that I am wrong. I have successfully managed to produce methionine crystals that look almost identical to this substance, the only problem is that methionine has a rotten odor that we cannot manage to remove so that did not work out.

This substance is in cleavage like flakes, it could be that the flakes were hand pressed but I am not sure, it doesn't really seem to break down into fine powder, it always breaks into smaller and smaller flakes. If you feel the flakes between your fingers, they have a sort of oily and slippery feeling. You don't get a lot of shimmering powder stuck to your hands but yet small flakes.

It is white/opaque lustrous and bright.

I can't measure it's melting point but for sure it melts quite fast, meaning that it must be as low as 100-200 degrees. It melts into what I would almost say a brown and sticky substance almost like a sugar.

Completely soluble in DMSO and methanol, not completely soluble in acetone, chloroform, or water.

As far as I can tell it does completely dissolve in hot water.

It's taste is salty at least this is what I find.

It is odorless (if anything it smells like fresh water, slightly)

I had a lab do a CHNO test and it has hydrogen only from water.

Carbon (wt%) 0.22%

Hydrogen (wt%) 4.45%

Nitrogen (wt%) <0.05%