Plasmid Digestion

I am running a restriction digest with the Pyp04 plasmid (has 1 restriction site for BglII) and BglII. Using 2ng of plasmid, I was told to use 5 uL of BglII to digest. After 2 hours of digestion I ran a gel to test how well my sample was digested, but did not include an undigested sample (I am under the assumption you wont just see one band if it was under digested). The bands were a little on the light side, so I am doing an etbr soak to brighten the gel up. In the meantime (1.5 hours after I started the gel), I was told to add another uL of enzyme to the digestion for another hour. So my question is, would it really be necessary to do so? A typical digestion of this amount would be done with less enzyme and would most likely be fully digested in an hour's time.

Im kind of new at this so im just looking for a "what would you do" type of answer. Imo adding an extra uL of enzyme would be unnecessary based on protocols so I didnt add it.

Opinions? thanks in advance :)

The way to assess this is to know how much enzyme (in terms of activity or units, not volume) compared to the DNA. If what you describe is correct and assuming that the enzyme is not diluted and the right buffer is used you are doing a horrible overdigest anyway.

Low concentrated enzymes are mostly sold with around 10 units/ml. 10 units (i.e. 1µl) is generally sufficient to digest around 2 µg of DNA within an hour under optimum conditions (depending on DNA it may even take less).

You are using potentially 50 units for 2 ng. However, even if it was a typo and you used 2 µg (as 2 ng diluted in buffer would operate below the detection limit of EtBr gels) it should be more than enough. Especially as BglII had star activity, if memory serves.

But more importantly, what is the rationale behind adding more enzyme? Low intensity in gels would not be a good reason.