perpetual motion machine

John Phoenix

Hi, I'm new here and I'm not a scientist, mathematician or engineer. I have a few thoughts on perpetual motion machines I would like to share, and then open this to discussion.

(By the way I started this exact discussion on a popular physics forum and got banned for life without explanation except to say I was a discussing "crackpot spam." I trust the forum mods here will not be so short sighted. As you will see there is nothing crack pot in a serious discussion of perpetual motion machines.)

I remember back in the 1980s as a school boy learning about perpetual motion machines. The teachers said they were impossible. I have always been convinced otherwise. Laying aside the subtle intricacies of the second law of thermal dynamics, a practical perpetual motion machine is one that is a machine that is self sustaining and provides the ability to do work and does not require more energy from an outside force to continue doing that work. I say ' practical' because even if the device does break down in a thousand years it will have well served it's purpose giving us a thousand years of free energy.

To me, A perpetual motion machine is not impossible. We have them all around us they are called galaxies. One form. Yet we have another form they are called Atoms with electrons and protons spinning around a nucleus. Atoms can be split in two, galaxies can be swallowed up by massive black holes over time but energy is never really destroyed, it just changes forms.