Rare, Unique Science

LawLord

Hi folks. I'm a first year Law student (18 years old)with a basic high school background in Science. Over time, science has begun to interest me more and more. I'm also interested in things that are rather rare.

I was curious as to whether anyone here has come across scientific areas or sub catagories that recieve very little attention. Perhaps a discovery made twenty years ago most have forgotton (concidering how quickly new knowledge is added to the mix).

I can't help thinking that somewhere out there in the darkest corner of the Library, hidden in a book that hasn't been opened in 50 years, is a scientific discovery that would help answer some of todays questions...

I want to write a book (not to big), the book would look into various parts of (hopefully valuable or interesting) scientific knowledge (and math).

I want knowledge that is close to extinction.

Was wondering if people could recall ever reading something facinating, or know of a particular field of science that recieves little attention that I could research and write about in my "Unique" book.

I had thought about having a chapter on discoveries made in Alchemy (that actually work). The problem with this is that when I read articles, I don't know if they are scientifically based or belief based... The Alchemist did make some interesting discoveries though.. the problem is: figuring out what is a discovery and what is "magic", so to speak.

Thanks in advance.

PS: http://www.cpe.fr/ectn-assoc/archives/lib/2006/N04/200610_RareKnowlegeFR.pdf

Kinda objective I have (but all fields of Science).

Edited by LawLord