Trying to understand acoustic dispersion

messier88

Ok, so this needs a bit of explaining. I'm a very amateur scientist... well actually I'm really a sound designer, that is amongst other things I create sound effects. I'm also naturally quite curious and like to ask the question why? as I'm sure do you.

So my interest in this topic stems from some sound effects, namely the very famous star wars laser sound created by Ben Burtt which was a recording of himself hammering a steel guy wire. As I understand it the phenomenon of acoustic dispersion is responsible for the high frequencies in the sound moving faster than the low frequencies. Other examples of this sound are this great recording under ice sheets:

http://silentlistening.wordpress.com/2008/05/09/dispersion-of-sound-waves-in-ice-sheets/

So I'm wondering why this happens in some materials and not others, and really why it happens at all. As I mentioned, I'm not a scientist so layman's terms would be appreciated!

Many thanks,

Mark

I think it's a matter of there being a resonance. Whatever material you have is going to have certain mechanical characteristics (e.g. stiffness) that tell you how it responds to a shock of some sort, and may have a resonance frequency where it will vibrate. Frequencies at or near the resonance will propagate, while the others will get damped out — the material simply doesn't respond well if you try and make it vibrate at a frequency it doesn't "want" to vibrate at.