Gamma rays, protons, neutrons

Ice-cream

I am studying radioactive decay at the moment, and when it comes to writing equations with alpha, beta particles, positrons, protons, neutrons and gamma rays, I don't understand under what circumstances an element would emit gamma rays. (i mean, i know for eg. alpha particles are emitted when an element has too many protons and neutrons) What about protons? Neutrons? THanx

I am studying radioactive decay at the moment, and when it comes to writing equations with alpha, beta particles, positrons, protons, neutrons and gamma rays, I don't understand under what circumstances an element would emit gamma rays. (i mean, i know for eg. alpha particles are emitted when an element has too many protons and neutrons) What about protons? Neutrons? THanx

Gammas are emitted when the nucleus is in an excited state. The nucleus de-excites by emmitting a gamma.

Neutron emission can happen with an excited nucleus that has an excess of neutrons - this typically happens after a beta-minus decay that leaves the daughter in an excited state. (This is an important neutron source in nuclear reactors that use thermal neutrons)

Proton emission isn't something with which I am familiar, but I imagine it could happen in a way that mirrors the neutron emission - excited nucleus after a beta-plus decay.

Neutron and proton emission can also occur in induced reactions.

Yum yum, questions about radioactive decay. :)

"I don't understand under what circumstances an element would emit gamma rays."

When a nucleus is excited (for example, when a decay happens), it emits a gamma ray. And I'd imagine the more excited it is, the less is the gamma ray's wavelength.

And about the other decays, there are a lot of those. I personally find EC (electron capture) and SF (spontaneous fission) the most interesting.