Aimless original postings -- Do they violate any forum rule/policy?

I'll be the first to admit that I'm no forum expert, but I've seen a few threads lately starting with posts that, while they can be scientific in nature, are merely simple facts with no obvious point of discussion. I'll make up an example:

the sun produces ultraviolet rays from which humans must protect themselves

The only rule they seem to violate is #8 (with my emphasis added) --

This is a discussion forum, not your personal lecture hall. Discuss points, don't just repeat them.

These threads seem to lack a specific purpose or direction for discussion. Do I have a legitimate concern, or am I just whining?

I'll be the first to admit that I'm no forum expert, but I've seen a few threads lately starting with posts that, while they can be scientific in nature, are merely simple facts with no obvious point of discussion. I'll make up an example:

The only rule they seem to violate is #8 (with my emphasis added) --

These threads seem to lack a specific purpose or direction for discussion. Do I have a legitimate concern, or am I just whining?

It's usually some little dim-whit deviant trying to get his post-count up to start a rant in ethics or politics. They usually get sacked by an admin or mod eventually.

I think there is a very laudable and pronounced didactic streak in many of the knowledgeable experts here and this fosters those posters who are not experienced at correspondence on a forum, nor very learned in science. I agree it can be annoying - but the forum would lose a great deal if they were discouraged too much. The mods are quite quick enough in clamping down if a thread is better suited to speculations or to trash. just my two cents

I'll be the first to admit that I'm no forum expert, but I've seen a few threads lately starting with posts that, while they can be scientific in nature, are merely simple facts with no obvious point of discussion. [/Quote]