I'm writing a scientific paper for a Journal

Bloke of the forest

Hello sciencefourms.net, it's nice to meet you (collective sense). I'm just some Bloke from the forest who's interested in science - feel free to derive profundities from my name, if you want.

smile.gif

That's the introduction out of the way...

So,

I'm not actually writing a scientific paper for a journal; not yet. I am going to though. A few weeks ago a Eureka moment hit me and now I think I have a scientific theory! It is about physics. And no, (cliché) I'm not going to "reveal" what it is because I would be worried that someone might...steal it. And so, I want to get it down into a paper and (hopefully) get it published. The only thing is (cliché) I'm not very good with articulating ideas in writing so I'm stumped when it comes to writing a scientific paper.

This is where you come in (cliché), I was hoping that some bright sparks here could give me advice on how to go about constructing a paper.

As for my experience with science: I have a decent A-level at Physics and Maths (from...let me think) and a undergraduate degree (Open universitysad.gif).

Preparations:

A) Figure the message you want to convey. Sadly, that's "we did the same thing as the other guys, but with slightly different parameters/systems" in many cases. Possibly even more sadly: that's enough to get it published.

B) look through the results of your calculations/simulations/experiments. How do the data support the claim, and which of them do you want to show. Sadly, cherry-picking data (i.e. showing only the data that fit best and ignoring that some of the data not shown wouldn't even support the hypothesis at all) is very common there. Luckily, you might not need to because one can get away with rather dubious data anyways (a colleague recently got a paper accepted in which the referees said that the data are not entirely convincing, but probably the best that can be done with today's technology).