Size exclusion chromatography write up (discussion)

vanklik

I'm doing the biochemistry practical write up and I need to discuss the results including suggestions for improvement and sources of error noted.

The practical was about size exclusion chromatography. I separated mixture of gelatine and glucose into 20 fractions and did Benedict's and Biuret tests to confirm the results that were recorded based on the ammount of substance using the scheme:

0 - none

1 - trace

2 - little

and so on.

I'm really struggling with finding the sources of error. Could it be broken protein molecules? Or may be errors could happen because I was qualifying the substunces but not quantifying?

What could be done to improve experiment?

I understant that from the information that I gave here it probably will be very difficult to answer my question but any help will be greatly appreciated!

Thank you!

Sorry for my English, it's my second language and I'm still learning. :)

chromatography.jpg

Please start off by stating what you expected to see. Take into account how size exclusion works (i.e. according to what parameters does it separate) and how gelatine and glucose differ in the respective parameter.

Thanks for your help. I did explain my results. I need to say about the sources of error and I can't think of any. Also I need to explain how I could improve the experiment. :confused:

Potential sources of error come from your method of separation, the tests you performed, any lack of sterility in your equipment, purity (or lack thereof) of the original samples, etc. Think along those lines when considering sources of potential error. Your suggestion about qualifying instead of quantifying also would be useful in this regard.