Question about travelling at speed of light

bloodhound

WHICH one of these is right

1) its not possible to travel at speed of light

2)its not possible to travel at or greater than speed of light

if 1) is right. then does that mean theoretically u can travel greater than speed of light

dont laugh at me pls. i am a mathematics student and i haven't done anything of relativity.

http://www.scienceforums.net/forums/showthread.php?t=2743&

http://www.scienceforums.net/forums/showthread.php?t=2743&

Mr.L's posts are the ones to read carefully. Basicly though, it is possible to travel at both the speed of light and greater than the speed of light, just never crossing from one side to the other. Particles traveling faster than the speed of light can't slow down below it and those below it can't speed up above it.

Massless particles can (rather, MUST) travel at the speed of light. Particles with mass, i.e. us, cannot.

Tachyons, proposed particles that travel faster than the speed of light would be able to travel faster than light, and also backwards in time. But they have never been observed experimentally, so they aren't of much use to us.

You mean all virtual particles. Why must they travel at the speed of light? or above?

Why does time travel at the speed of light? It may seem like a stupid question but i really dont know.

You mean all virtual particles. Why must they travel at the speed of light? or above?

Why does time travel at the speed of light? It may seem like a stupid question but i really dont know.

I don't think "all virtual particles" is right - lots of virtual particles are not ones with zero rest mass.

Particles with zero rest mass travel at c because that's the solution to the equations. Particles with rest mass travelling at either v<c or v>c are also solutions to the equations, but they are different solutions from each other. So tachyons, if they exist, can never travel slower than c.