Confused about Protein Structure

Hi there Science Forum !

I was just reading about the levels of protein structure, but was a bit confused what was meant by quaternity structure of a protein,

in that if you have a protein sequence i understand that it will form a tertiary structure from that amino acid sequence for sure, but will that same amino acid sequence also make it form a quternity structure (if that protein structure is of that kind ) aswell.

I mean take Heamoglobin ive read it has a quaternity structure , did that structure form by the amino acid sequence ? or does every protein form a tertiary structure only and then some how they join with other proteins to form a quaternity structure.?

Thanks for reading, (im a bit if an amateur to all of this, :) !)

Magic - qwerty

you basically have it. quaternary structure is when multiple amino acid chains come together to form a super-structure, so how they fit together is determined by each individual chain's tertiary structure. In the end, it's still ultimately caused by the amino acid sequence.

Hi There Paralith

Thanks for replying,

so its like one single amino acid sequence e.g Heemoglobin that forms everything

i was kind of getting confused, i thought it was like different proteins joining togther to form a large unit

thanks again

m-qwerty

well...it is different proteins joining together to form a large unit. It can be multiple copies of one amino acid sequence, aka multiple identical proteins joining together, or it can be multiple but different proteins joining together. The point is that if and how they join together depends on each individual protein's shape; a shape that is determined by that individual protein's amino acid structure. Please let me know if you're still confused.

Hi

Thanks a lot for clearing this up for me, ive defintenly got it now!...lol wish the text books were as clear , im not from a molecular biology background, but fascinated by proteins,,,