Defense Budget to Top $500 Billion

Pangloss

I've been predicting this for a couple of years, and it's finally happened -- the first proposal of a defense budget over $500 billion. This one, for $517 billion, was approved by the Senate Armed Services Committee yesterday, and may not end up in this form, but generally speaking they only get bigger between now and signing.

http://www.upi.com/SecurityTerrorism/view.php?StoryID=20060508-103116-1016r

Believe it or not, I actually caught wind of this in an email from one of my senators, bragging about all the hard work he's doing up there in Washington.

I've been predicting this for a couple of years' date=' and it's finally happened -- the first proposal of a defense budget over $500 billion. This one, for $517 billion, was approved by the Senate Armed Services Committee yesterday, and may not end up in this form, but generally speaking they only get bigger between now and signing.

http://www.upi.com/SecurityTerrorism/view.php?StoryID=20060508-103116-1016r

Believe it or not, I actually caught wind of this in an email from one of my senators, bragging about all the hard work he's doing up there in Washington.[/quote']

A 4% increase doesn't seem that shocking all things considered.

Such an increase would be expected, I would think, in dealing with Afghanistan, adapting to terrorism, and, most of all, the money incinerator that is Iraq. What I'm more curious about is why it's so high in the first place.