IM new to quantum mechanics and physics, what are the basics?

cyberguy020

The basics? How basic? What are you interested in specifically? What is your background?

Sorry for all the questions, but it is really difficult to answer a question like that without at least a little direction. :/ So basically if you would answer the following, perhaps I could get you started...

Why do you want to know about QM? Do you just have a basic curiosity? Is it for school? Did you have read something that piqued your interest?

What is your current level of education? Have you taken chemistry? In high school? College? Do you know algebra, calculus, differential equations, linear algebra, group theory?

How detail do you want? Do you want just a down and dirty explination, or do you want enought information to give you a working definition of QM?

How much work are you willing to invest in understanding QM? Do you just want to learn from what we have to say here, or are you willing to do some research and reading on your own? What level of understanding do you wish to get to?

Cool, well that may seem like a lot of questions, but taking the time to answer them will greatly improve the chances of getting a decent response to your question as well as allow us to tailor our replies to what you want.

As a bit of a carrot or something, I will offer you this much of an explanation. A few of the main consequences of quantum mechanics are these:

1) The world is not really governed by cause and effect, but rather by probabilities.

2) The world is broken up into discrete levels or states, and changes occur by jumping between these levels.

3) There is inherent uncertainty in the world and there are some things that we can never know precisely. For instance, we can not know at the same time exactly where something is and how fast it is moving.

Just some tidbits, very over simplified. If you want more, then answer the questions that I have provided.

talk to you laters :D