I would like some feedback on this Inorganic Chemistry assignment (solutions and dilutions)

Funghiarrosto

Hi all, I'm a first year biology student at university, and I've only recently started my chemistry classes. I was given an assignment on solutions and dilutions, but I'm unsure about the results I've obtained... I'm not sure if the passages I've done are correct or if this could have been done in a simpler way. Could anyone point me towards the right direction and help me correct my mistakes? :)

Here is the assignment with my resolution and my thought process:

Prepare 500mL of an aqueous solution of ethyl alcohol at 30% (v/v) and determine its molar concentration. Then, from this solution, prepare:

100mL of solution diluted 1:10

100mL of solution diluted 1:100.

MY RESOLUTION: the purity of the alcohol I used is equal to 70%, meaning that in 100mL of product, there are 70mL of ethyl alcohol. With the proportion x mL : 100 = 100mL : 70, I obtained 134mL of ethyl alcohol with 70% purity, which is the equivalent of 100mL of ethyl alcohol with 100% purity.

I then calculated the amount of ethyl alcohol that needs to be added to the solution:

30% of 500mL = 150mL of 100% pure ethyl alcohol.

If 150mL of pure ethyl alcohol are necessary to obtain a solution with the desired concentration (30% v/v), then 1,5 x 143mL of ethyl alcohol pure at 70% will be necessary to obtain an aqueous solution of ethyl alcohol at 30% (v/v).

I then calculated the amount of water necessary to reach 500mL of total solution (I did this because I also need to make this experiment at home, so I know how much water I need to add. Now that I think about it, I probably could have skipped this part and just poured water until the solution reached 500mL):

500mL – 215mL (alcohol) = 285mL of water.

I then calculated the molecular weight of ethyl alcohol C2H5OH:

😄 12,011g/mol

H: 1,0079g/mol

O: 15,9994g/mol

Molecular weight: 2(12,001g/mol) + 6(1,0079g/mol) + 15,9994g/mol = 46,046g/mol.