Searching for Scientific Computing Resources

ALine

I have decided to go down the path of scientific computing for my CS major and I want to improve my knowledge on the subject.

Does anyone know of any free resources available that I can maybe look into?

Thank you for your responses.

• 1 year later...

I too am interested in scientific computing. I have a degree but there is a ton of stuff I don’t know.

Do you mean science problems or data science? The web is full of science problems but finding resources for data science seems more difficult. I want to crunch primes or test multiple patterns in numbers. Some stuff Wolfram Alpha helps. But I want more control like in a programming language. I know Mathematica and Excel and Python can help. But there is also a problem of finding data unless you are creating your own.

YouTube should have some stuff but I haven’t found a good video on number crunching. So if any knows how to program a program for recursion or factions let me know.

Where you thinking mining crypto?

You are probably wondering why I replied to your post a year after you wrote it. I did not see this post. I am posting a second time to ask if your scientific computation has led you to mine bitcoin.

The reason I ask is that I want to study bitcoin and the blockchain. Many participants to this forum community sigh when I talk about breaking RSA. But to break RSA you have to factor a large semi-Prime. I attempted to find a pattern in the factorization of factors and not a pattern in Primes. If you can factor the semi-Prime you can break RSA. But most public key crypto relies on finding Primes.