why is there eigenfunctions in quantum mechanics

physica

I am in my final year of physics (hoping to get into a theoretical physics masters). I have been going though quantum mechanics and I haven't seen an explanation as to why there is eigenfunctions in quantum mechanics.

From what I understand an eigenfunction is a function that stays the same once it's be derived or integrated. The eigenvalue is a constant that comes from this process. Last year I used eigenvalues to find points of equilibrium. This was a fairly easy concept to grasp. In quantum mechanics is the use of eigenfunctions fundamental like for instance quantisation? Or is it mathematically useful like using e for a general solution to a second order differential equation?

An eigenvalue is some number, call it [math]\lambda[/math], that satisfies the following equation:

[math]\hat{O} \psi = \lambda \psi[/math]

where [math]\hat{O}[/math] is some operator. If [math]\psi[/math] is a function, we call it an eigenfunction. In quantum mechanics all observables are associated with a hermitian operator (position, momentum, energy, etc.). The function [math]\psi[/math] itself satisfies the Schrodinger equation. Eigenvalues of each observable operator represent the possible values you might get if you were to take a measurement. For example, if we have solved the Schrodinger equation for a particular scenario and we're interested in the spectrum of possible momentum values we might measure for an electron, we simply find all numbers [math]p[/math] which satisfy the equation:

[math]\hat{P} \psi = p \psi[/math]

Edited by elfmotat

From what I understand an eigenfunction is a function that stays the same once it's be derived or integrated.

Or is it mathematically useful like using e for a general solution to a second order differential equation?

Yes it is mathematically useful in many situations, both classical and quantum.