Just Over The Horizon

sciwiz12

I suppose I'm still somewhat new to computer science as I've only just started grasping at a deeper and more fundamental understanding of the principals behind the relationships between various parts of a computer on the software and hardware levels.

Here's what kills me though, I want to eventually start using my technology to at least make a little bit of money to get by, but EVERY time I look into the requirements of a money making opportunity there are at least six items on the list I've never even heard of before.

I have to imagine that if I'm going through it now almost everybody has had to deal with it at some point. From personal experience, how did you handle such requirements? Did you ignore the stated requirements and show off a worthy portfolio, discovering in the process that the requirements were more of a general guide than requirements? Did you identify the specific requirements of a job listing you wanted, studying and mastering the stated requirements before even bothering to apply? Did you simply learn so much in the pursuit of computer science related degrees or in the process of self study that no requirements seemed foreign to you?

I mean it really is a lot to tackle, I still am learning to accept that I'll never have the entire API memorised for C# and I still have to "finish" learning SQL, GIT, LUA, 3D math and GPU tools and coding to name a few and even that doesn't even seem to encompass a fraction of the list? Am I missing something integral to an understanding of how professional software development works? Is this just how it always goes? Is the list never ending and ultimately not as important as it seems on the surface?