Majoring Computer Science are helpful for my future?

Vinsin

**I am new to this if I post into a wrong place forgive me.

My question is because I don't really know what Computer science course teach you, right now I am studying HTML4, CSS, CS3, C#, C, C++, SQL, MySQL & PHP, etc at home (not from school).

The main point is when I searching job on www.indeed.com and I enter one of the category above, I find out most company didn't have Bachelor degree as a requirement and the salary are very high too, is between $50,000 ~ $120,000. But one or two company did ask for Bachelor degree.

And I know in college, Computer Science don't teach all those category, so what is the point for me to get a Bachelor Degree if I can find a part-time or full-time job with one of the category above?

I know some of you in this forum know about questions like this, can you please answer my question.

Thank you

Computer science degrees usually teach programming only incidentally. Programming is necessary to complete the courses, but learning ActionScript or C# is not the goal of the program.

I am sure you can find many jobs that do not require a computer science degree, only programming experience. You will be limited, though. Computer science (things like algorithms, data structures, parsing techniques, the low-level architecture of computers, and operating system design) provides many useful tools which can be used to solve complex problems.

Take a look at the curriculum of a college computer science program and contrast it with what you're learning at home.

Computer science degrees usually teach programming only incidentally. Programming is necessary to complete the courses, but learning ActionScript or C# is not the goal of the program.