Measure crack Length at high temperature

student85

Hi, i'm a electrical student but recently i have been task to do a assignment which is material science related. I don't have any background for that, so i have quite a number of problem for it.

My assignment is to measure crack length ( micro-crack length / very small crack length) for aluminum at HIGH TEMPERATURE.

I have read up some methods example like using ultrasonic, DC potential, x -ray and so on. But the problem is i do not know which method is effective and simple. Is that any suggestion or information for me to read up. thanks

Actually, have not been brief with the budget matter. i was just being told to look for ways to measure micro-crack length. But i think most probably, i think they will ask me to use the equipments which are available in the lab.

By the way, what do u mean the access to the specimen.

I will be testing the sample at 100 to 110 degree Celsius.

thanks

By the way, what do u mean the access to the specimen.

Where is it? Where are the cracks in it? How big is it? Is it in the lab or part of an aircraft flying at MACH 2 or what?

I will be testing the sample at 100 to 110 degree Celsius.

Ultrasonic testing equiment relies on an acoustic coupling medium to the specimen. At this temperature you will have to look for a new one, perhaps a high temperature industrial grease.

Sorry for not updating the post. There is changes for the project. Now, i just need to find way to measure micro- crack on the sample.

studio-> the micro-crack is on a aluminum rod sample. it is about length 310 mm, diameter 25 mm

louis wu-> i need to measure both surface and embedded micro-crack on the aluminum sample.

Currently, i only can think of X-ray methods. But, there is only little material regarding this technical on the websites. Is there any suggestion for me or any review for me to read up?

Thanks