Which learned science, our species or our individuals?

MonDie

If my question hasn't been answered, it might be interesting to other people who can apply their knowledge to it. If it has been answered, that answer will be interesting to me.

I'll elaborate on the title. Humans can understand the scientific method, and evolution obviously enabled this understanding in some way. However, did random mutation endow random rules of logic until it endowed the correct rules of logic, or did evolution give individuals the capacity to learn the correct rules of logic? One thing I think of is the way babies are taking in so much information.

Perhaps this thread would have been best for an interdisciplinary forum including both evolution and developmental psychology, but there is no such forum, so I chose genetics as a compromise.

Edited by Mondays Assignment: Die

I am not a scientist of evolution, psychology, and/or anthropology. Just an internet rando/ignoramus.

My understanding:

1. Evolution by natural selection is not "random," and I suppose in the case of our ancestors the capacity to reason was a survival advantage. Hunting, tracking, cataloging useful plants and materials, making tools, planning for the future, et cetera. I think there also may have been a feedback with increased social complexity driving greater cognitive ability which in turn drives greater social complexity (hopefully I'm not bastardizing the idea; I recall reading about such things anyway).

2. The scientific method and being logical are not innate but require training and discipline (I think these are more cultural artifacts than products of biological evolution). Our psychology has evolved with a great many flaws from this point of view and science was invented partly to mitigate human irrationality.

Being off-the-cuff here, I suppose I see the emergence of scientific methodology as analogous to the emergence of a physical toolkit.