Modelling evolution

JamesNBarnes

Hi folks,

I wasn't sure quite where to put this as it spans computer science and biology, but I'll leave it here for now.

I'm hoping to be doing some work with STEM this summer, I'm a computer scientist so my focus will be mainly around that but this project is a good way of weaving several things together I think.

I was watching a short film on evolution the other day and to cut a long story short I thought it would be nice to write some software that people could interact with and see evolution (or rather its principles) in action.

This should provide an engaging overlap between maths, biology, comp sci and general reasoning. The idea is to have a fully interactive suite where they can play around with all the parameters and program logic to see what effect the changes have.

The most natural data set to work on for seems to be strings as everyone is familiar with words and letters and how they work.

As it stands I have a simple framework written.

Essentially you define a genome size (length of the string) and a population size (number of strings) and then set it off "evolving" and watch it go.

Currently the genetic algorithm is very basic, and that's primarily why I am here.

At the moment each string is initialized randomly [a..z \ ].

For each generation 1 character is randomly mutated and the new genome is assessed. If it is found to be less healthy it is "killed" (in actuality the change is just reverted).

Health is assessed very simply, it is just the count of real words within the string. (A real word is one discrete word that can be found in a dictionary, partial matches or concatenated words are not counted)

I have some specific questions but I am also open to any suggestions, ideas, improvements etc.