Gravity

Akash Kagi

Hello everybody,

Today is my first day on science forum. I am studying in 9th std. I came upon the following question in my text book, which I was unable to answer. So I am posting this on the scince forum, seeking your help. The question is-

"During which situation may an object dropped from a certain height not fall to the earth?"

Thanks and regards.

What have you come up with so far?

Thanks Swansont,

For your kind attention. Basically, I have not understood the question itself.

The question comes under the section ACCELERATION DUE TO GRAVITY

It reads as under-

Objects thrown vertically upwards move for a certain distance and then fall back to the ground. It is due to the gravitational force of the earth.

Every particle of matter in the universe attracts every other particle.

The credit proving this, stating the universal law of gravitation and inventing the method of calculating gravitational force goes to Sir Isaac Newton.

A body accelerates if and only if the resultant of all the forces acting on it is not equal to zero.

Does a body falling towards the ground accelerate due to gravitational force?

And then in a box with the heading THINK IT OVER the question is given.

Thanks Swansont,

For your kind attention. Basically, I have not understood the question itself.

The question comes under the section ACCELERATION DUE TO GRAVITY

It reads as under-

Objects thrown vertically upwards move for a certain distance and then fall back to the ground. It is due to the gravitational force of the earth.

Every particle of matter in the universe attracts every other particle.

The credit proving this, stating the universal law of gravitation and inventing the method of calculating gravitational force goes to Sir Isaac Newton.

A body accelerates if and only if the resultant of all the forces acting on it is not equal to zero.

Does a body falling towards the ground accelerate due to gravitational force?