Hi guys, mind helping :D

walshy155

Hi guys, I'm having trouble, understanding the difference between AMPS and VOLTS, I'm not really good at electronics, My stronger points are astronomy and computer science. But I need help understanding, because I have two power supplies taken from old chargers, etc.

I dont understand why a 9V 2.2A is more powerful than a 15V 1.2A charger?

anyone care to explain?

It is much appreciated if you help me.

Thanks.

There are certain analogies with fluid flow.

Current, measure in Amps, is the amount of charge flowing per unit time. Which is like the amount of water going through a hose. But you can have an amount of water going through a big hose very slowly, or through a small hose very quickly, and have the same flow rate. The amount of energy per particle (or for a standard amount of particles) it has is the potential, measured in Volts. The product of the two gives you the power.

The 9V, 2.2 A charge draws more power because the combination of number of electrons flowing and energy per unit charge is larger, though in this case by a relatively small amount (1.8 Watts)

So I still dont fully understand, but how is 9V more powerful than 15V?

Ohh and I intend to use them to do electrolysis in water, any help on that?

Volts isn't power. Power is the combination of the energy each particle has, and how often they go by. I think part of the problem here is that the results are close, and the answer isn't obvious.

Would you rather be punched 10 times (the current) by someone who is strong (potential, or Volts), or 25 times by someone (more current) who is 90% as strong (smaller potential)? Hit once by a 100 mph fastball, or twice by a 95 mph fastball?

Water has a threshold under which it will never work, but it's around 1.25 V; in practical application you need 2V or so. You should be fine.

So say I have a power supply of 1V 10Amps

and a power supply of 50V 100milliamp it will be less powerful?