The Mind is the Message

Butters

I decided that I had best put this in speculation rather than annoy people in the quantum theory section. Basically, I am a science fiction writer and in one of my novels there is a society of AI's that exist throughout the universe in virtual colonies on a series of thousands of asteroids. By virtual colonies I mean that they only exist as digitally encoded minds, although they have access to the sensory equipment of each asteroid to observe the outside world and, if necessary, affect it.

Being a huge fan of bandwagons, I'm jumping on the one labelled quantum entanglement as a means for them to be connected to each other. I have the usual limited understanding, but my understanding is that information cannot be sent in this way (by measuring the spin of particles) because there is no way to know what the result at the other end was without using traditional communication, which defeats the purpose of it. My idea is basically to have a massive amount (billions) of entangled particles, whose spin is interpreted by an outside machine as a mental state. Simplifying things incredibly, lets say the brain is a series of switches set to either on or off. Or at least, a mind can be represented in this way if it the system is sufficiently complex. So when the mind needs to be sent to another asteroid, it is measure and then the information is fed into the device so that the spin of the particles is altered to represent the current mental state of an individual. The box at the other end measures the entangled particles on a regular basis (let's say every second or so) so that if the configuration in the box ever becomes a conscious intelligence it can inform the machine to copy it into the hardware of the asteroid and it can then be in another place, many light years away.